Aronson, Dawson take home major conference awards for football

Center Nico Aronson ’18 was recently named offensive lineman of the year by the Commonwealth Coast Conference, while running back James Dawson ’18 earned the Hal Chalmers Award, which recognizes the league’s top senior scholar-athlete. In addition, 14 players were named to the all-conference team.

This is Aronson’s second straight season winning the offensive lineman of the year award. He started seven games at center for the Seahawks this season, anchoring the line for an offense that averaged 33.1 points per game.

Dawson played in six games, rushing for 660 yards and six touchdowns. Despite missing the final three games of the season, he finished the season ranked second in yardage and third in touchdowns in the conference. Dawson is also a member of the Army ROTC program.

Joining Aronson and Dawson on the all-conference first team are guard Joe McDonald ’18, wideout Brendan Nunes ’20, defensive end Brandon O’Neill ’19, cornerback Haiden Pereira ’19, defensive end John Salute ’19 and tight end Tommy Seaver ’18.

Guard Ian Bomely ’18, linebacker Tyler D’Errico ’19, running back Jake Gelb ’18, kicker David Gelormini ’18, tackle Michael Saunders ’20 and wideout Connor Sullivan ’18 earned spots on the second team.

“It is always such an honor to make an all-conference team,” said head coach Kevin Gilmartin. “To have nine different offensive players, four different defensive players and one special teams player shows the quality of players that Salve football is bringing to the conference and is something that makes us proud.”

Leave a comment

All fields marked (*) are required

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.