Students honored during business department’s annual ceremony

More than 100 students were inducted into three honor societies – Alpha Mu Alpha, IMA Accounting Honor Society and Sigma Beta Delta – during the Department of Business Studies and Economics’ annual awards ceremony May 6.

Alpha Mu Alpha

Under the auspices of the American Marketing Association, Alpha Mu Alpha is the national honor society for qualified marketing students to acknowledge outstanding scholastic achievement.

  • Rachel Anastas
  • Tessa Baglini
  • Erica Bonnette-Lykens
  • Courtney Bouchard
  • Cassidy Chapman
  • Timothy Connelly
  • Jacqueline Connor
  • Olivia Conway
  • Paul Criscione
  • Mia Deleo
  • Damian Dell’anno
  • Kristen Ellis
  • Benjamin Faulkner
  • Laura Field
  • Gregory Ford
  • Julia Fraser
  • Christina Grattan
  • Douglas Huber
  • Madison Huntley
  • Caitlyn Huser-Jerauld
  • Rachel Langley
  • Sarah Lauermann
  • Mallorie McDonald
  • Peter Melo
  • Rodney Miller
  • Michael Millerick
  • Michelle Murphy
  • Cassandra Nicolosi
  • Fiona Nunez
  • Evelyn O’Callaghan
  • Alex Perry
  • Ashley Prokop
  • Connor Russo
  • Michelle Tierney
  • Kelly Tracy
  • Morgan VanderBaan
  • Abigail Verille
  • Kathryn Walsh
  • Brandon Yee
  • Yajing Zheng

IMA Accounting Honor Society

IMA Accounting Honor Society admits accounting and financial management majors who are in their junior year or beyond and have attained academic excellence overall and in their accounting courses in particular.

  • Kerri Beland
  • Erica Bonnette-Lykens
  • Charles Dipollino III
  • Nathan Lalonde
  • Marissa Masson
  • Michael Mongelli
  • Margaret Palmer
  • Brynn Pasternak
  • Andrew Siaba
  • Sydney Smith
  • Shelby Watson

Sigma Beta Delta

The international honor society in business, management and administration, Sigma Beta Delta was formed to encourage and recognize scholarship and accomplishment among business students pursuing both graduate and undergraduate degrees.

Graduate inductees:

  • Katherine Bell
  • Nineveh Betshlimon
  • Jillian Bronson
  • Alyssa Bruno
  • Jillian Bruno
  • Ana Burr
  • Saurav Chatterjee
  • Noah Clowry
  • Kevin Connors
  • Anna-Marie Danayan
  • Margaret Dunphy
  • Scott Evans
  • Lauren Ferri
  • Michael Fitzpatrick
  • Robert Flath
  • Lauren Haggerty
  • Alyssa Lyons
  • Lisa Manso
  • Colleen McCarthy
  • Chanel Miller
  • Courtney McMorrow
  • Brian Murphy
  • Rachel Nourse
  • Ariana Puopolo
  • Mary Regan
  • Elizabeth Rigby
  • Sherri Sprague
  • Eric Torres
  • Danielle Ventura
  • Jodie Vilardi

Undergraduate inductees:

  • Justin Batista
  • Sean Beaulieu
  • Kerri Beland
  • Hanna Caisse
  • Francesco Candelino
  • Jordan Elster
  • Julia Fraser
  • Kimberly Green
  • Liam Healey
  • Amanda Jones
  • Tara Kellenbarger
  • Neiva Labrecque
  • Nathan Lalonde
  • Marissa Masson
  • Katherine McCarthy
  • Kelsey Miller
  • Brandon O’Neill
  • Margaret Palmer
  • Shaun Patry
  • Susan Phillips
  • Nicholas Ranucci
  • Vanessa Scott
  • Samantha See
  • Andrew Siaba
  • Maile Thongsythavong
  • Sarah Threlfall
  • Padraig Walsh
  • Alexis Weiss

The department also presented internship awards to two students that had outstanding experiences in their internships.

Lesya Fillatti interned at Frontier Horizon, the agency that helped bring her from Ukraine to America when she was just 13 years old. Frontier Horizon seeks to improve the health, education and general welfare of orphaned children in Ukraine, Nicaragua and Kyrgyzstan by connecting families with orphaned children. Fillatti learned about managing a nonprofit organization and served as a translator for children and families at the Ukraine orphanage and their host families.

Nills Manzi interned at Vanguard Economics in Rwanda. He completed projects related to national agricultural policy, market entry strategy for Rwandan goods into Nigeria, and cross-border trade between Rwanda and the Democratic Republic of Congo. His clients included the government of Rwanda and several NGOs, including the World Bank.

In addition, Mark Dupont ’05, senior vice president and equity partner at Focus Financial Partners, received the Sigma Beta Delta Leadership Award. In his role as the department’s first executive in residence, Dupont will visit classes, host roundtable discussions and serve as an advisor and mentor to students.

Leave a comment

All fields marked (*) are required

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.