Employees honored during annual recognition ceremony

Barbara Bessette, arts and sciences officer coordinator; Paul Cardoza, coordinator of student health education; and Mary Edwards, communications media specialist, received this year’s staff community service awards during the annual holiday luncheon and service recognition ceremony Dec. 17. In addition, President Jane Gerety, RSM, honored more than 35 employees for their service to Salve Regina.

Salve Regina’s staff community service awards are designed to recognize staff members who demonstrate their commitment to others by volunteering in their communities. Staff members are honored each year for their volunteerism, and donations in the amount of $300 are given to the charities of their choice.

This year, the third annual door decorating contest invited faculty and staff to “deck the halls” with the Christmas spirit. The Center for Adult Education took first place, while the Center for Student Development took second and the Office of Safety and Security took third.

Staff members who were honored for their years of service include:

Five years

  • Kelly Alverson, director of admissions, graduate and continuing education
  • Lori Barile, learning commons librarian
  • Wheeler Bradley, general maintenance
  • Kristin Butler, evening library manager
  • Nancy Callas, office coordinator, professional studies
  • Joyce Darcy, office coordinator, education
  • Kiyomi Donnelly, ESL coordinator
  • Michael Komar, assistant sailing coach
  • Michael Marshall, technical support specialist
  • Joseph Miklovic, media systems specialist
  • Carolyn Schneider, lab coordinator, biology and biomedical sciences
  • David Stroup, general maintenance
  • Colin Sullivan, director of athletics
  • Daniel Thombs, systems specialist
  • Michael Wisnewski, director of career development

Ten years

  • Kate Borgueta, web editor
  • Patrice Coleman, purchasing assistant
  • Patrick Cooney, head lacrosse coach
  • Dawn Emsellem, research and instruction librarian
  • William Francis, painter apprentice
  • Jacqueline Peterson, security officer

Fifteen years

  • Marion Aguiar, document imaging specialist, admissions
  • Ann Arsenault, office manager, campus life
  • Matt Boxler, media relations officer
  • Brian Burns, painter/team leader
  • Michael Chester, superintendent of grounds
  • Christine Dumont, senior applications programmer
  • Dawn Hahn, office coordinator, athletics
  • Kathryn Quint, assistant director, financial aid
  • Mark Rabitor, administrative coordinator, safety and security
  • Olga Verbeek, associate director, library services
  • Scott Williams, voice data technician

Twenty-five years

  • Dianne Blanchette, associate vice president, human resources
  • Rex Byrd, assistant supervisor, mail services
  • Colleen Emerson, dean of undergraduate admissions
  • Barbara Phillips, senior secretary

Leave a comment

All fields marked (*) are required